Visitor Visa for Australian Citizens

Since October 2019, most visitors to New Zealand need to request a NZeTA (New Zealand Electronic Travel Authorization) to gain access to the country. The ESTA-style visa waiver has been introduced to screen travelers in advance of their arrival for border and immigration risks and forms part of a wider government effort to make border crossing as seamless as possible.

The eTA system applies to all air and cruise travellers from 60 visa waiver countries, who will need to obtain the eTA up to 72 hours before travelling to New Zealand.

However, owing to the strong bilateral deal between Australia and New Zealand, Australian citizens travelling to New Zealand on an Australian passport are exempt from the eTA requirement.

Permanent residents of Australia who are not Australian citizens and are travelling on another country’s passport will need to obtain an ETA, as well as visitors from other visa-waiver countries including the United States, Canada and the UK.

Aoraki/mount cook national park

Australian Citizens can register their trip with the embassy

This service allows you to record information about your upcoming trip abroad to the Department of State so it can be used to assist you in case of an emergency. People residing abroad can also get routine information from their nearest embassy or consulate if registered. Travel Registration is a service provided by the government.

Leave a Comment

Uso de cookies

Este sitio web utiliza cookies para que usted tenga la mejor experiencia de usuario. Más info